Bayelsa Guber : Diri maintains lead with 5 LGAs, Sylva wins one

By Nwogha Ndubuisi, Yenagoa

Incumbent Governor of Bayelsa State, and candidate of the Peoples Democratic Party, PDP, Senator Douye Diri, has maintained the lead, after clinching five out of the six local government areas so far announced by the Independent National Electoral Commission, INEC, in the last Saturday governorship election.

Read: Poll: Uzodinma’s victory, reflection of the will of Imo people~Gov Nwifuru

With the announcements of results of three more local government areas after the break, PDP won two LGAs while the All Progressives Congress, APC, won one.

The PDP won in Yenagoa, Kolokuma/Opokuma, Ogbia, Sagbama and Ekeremor LGAs while the APC won in Nembe LGA.

The PDP has so far garnered 137909 votes while the APC is trailing with 73503 votes.

Related: Deputy Chief Whip congratulates Imo Gov, Uzodinma over re-election

Meanwhile, the results for Brass and Southern Ijaw LGAs are still been awaited as the State Returning Officer and Vice-Chancellor, Federal University of Technology, Minna, Prof. Kuta Farouk, adjourned the collation till 12 noon, Monday.