From Nwogha Ndubuisi, Abakaliki

The candidate of the All Progressives Congress, (APC) Chief Francis Ogbonna Nwifuru, Monday declared the winner of the March 18 governorship and State House of Assembly election in Ebonyi state.

Declaring the result at the Independent National Electoral Commission, (INEC) State Headquarters in Abakaliki on Monday, the State Residential Electoral Commissioner, Charles Igwe, said Mr Nwifuru scored a total of 199,131 votes cast across the 13 LGAs in the state.

His closest contender, Ifeanyi Odii of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP), got a total of 80,191 votes to place second and the All Progressives Grand Alliance (APGA), Professor Bernard Odoh, came third with 52,189 votes.

According to him: “I, Professor Charles Igwe, hereby certify that I am the Returning Officer of the governorship election held on 18th March 2023 in Ebonyi State.

“That Francis Nwifuru of the APC having satisfied the requirements of the law and having scored the highest number of votes is hereby declared winner and is returned elected,” he said

Mr Igwe, who is the Vice-Chancellor of the University of Nigeria, Nsuka, said the total valid votes was 342,554 while 7,387 votes were rejected; bringing the total votes cast for the election to 349,941.

See the final results below:

Registered voters- 1597646

Accredited 350345

AA 554

ADC 673

ADP 578

APC 199131

APGA 52189

APM 206

APP 99

LP 6793

NNPP 674

NRM 310

PDP 80191

SDP 126

YPP 280